• होम
  • शॉर्ट्स
  • स्टोरी
  • टॉपिक
  • नोटिफिकेशन
  • सर्च
  • More General Knowledge Questions

This question was previously asked in Railway Exam

  • Question

Who was the first Railway Minister who resigned due to a train accident?


1. Lal Bahadur Shastri
2. John Mathai
3. Asaf Ali
3. none of these

Answer (Detailed Solution Below)

Option 1 : Lal Bahadur Shastri

Key Points

  • Railway Minister Nitish Kumar resigned on moral grounds, only second railway minister to do so, after Lal Bahadur Shastri since 1963 Udyan Abha Toofan Express accident which killed 100+ passengers.

Lal Bahadur Shastri

  • Lal Bahadur Shastri was an Indian politician and statesman.
  • who served as the 2nd Prime Minister of India from 1964 to 1966 and 6th Home Minister of India from 1961 to 1963.

First Railway Minister in independent India

  • After India attained Independence on August 15, 1947, John Mathai became the first Railway Minister of the country.
  • He also presented the first Railway Budget of independent India in 1948.
  • Furthermore, Mathai was the first Chairman of the State Bank of India when it was set up in 1955.
  • More Question ...
  • Some importent Questions